• Pinkly Smooth

    Pinkly Smooth was an American heavy metal band. The band was formed in the summer of 2001 in Huntington Beach, California, as a side project for Avenged Sevenfold's drummer/songwriter Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan, and originally featured The Rev (under the name "Rathead") on vocals, along with fellow Avenged Sevenfold member Synyster Gates on guitar and former Ballistico band members Buck Silverspur (under the name "El Diablo") on bass and Derek Eglit (under the name "Super Loop") on drums. They released only one album, Unfortunate Snort, which featured former Avenged Sevenfold bassist Justin Meacham (under his stage name "Justin Sane") as a keyboard player, and was written primarily by The Rev and Synyster Gates. The band broke apart in 2002.

    Current activities

    Derek Eglit has since formed the heavy metal group Railroad to Alaska, in which Meacham has made several live guest appearances on keyboards. Synyster Gates is still present in Avenged Sevenfold, as was The Rev until his death in 2009.


    It has been confirmed in a recent interview that the song "Fiction" from Avenged Sevenfold's 2010 album Nightmare, was initially written in Pinkly Smooth, but as they went on an indefinite break after Avenged Sevenfold took off, The Rev never finished it. He revisited it and finally finished it (under the title name "Death") three days before he died on December 28, 2009. "Fiction" is one of only two songs on Avenged Sevenfold's album Nightmare to feature The Rev's vocals (the other is "Save Me") as they were able to save a demo recording that he did of the song shortly before Sullivan's death.In a recent interview with Spanish magazine "Binaural," Synyster Gates stated that they're thinking of remixing and remastering the album and possibly adding new parts now that he has the opportunity as he said the album's quality was similar to a demo.

    Band Members

    • Rathead (Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan) - vocals, piano, drums (2001-2009)
    • Synyster Gates - guitar (2001-2009)
    • Buck Silverspur (El Diablo) - bass (2001-2002)
    • Derek Eglit (Super Loop) - drums (2001-2002)
    • Justin Meacham (Justin Sane) - keyboards, piano (2001)


    • Unfortunate Snort (2002)

    Unfortunate Snort is the first and only album from the heavy metal band Pinkly Smooth. It was recorded in 2002.

    Pinkly Smooth was the side project of the (now deceased) Avenged Sevenfold drummer, The Reverend Tholomew Plague, and featured Avenged Sevenfold's current lead guitarist Synyster Gates, and former bassist Justin Sane on keyboards.

    Track listing

    1. "Necromance Theatre"  

    2. "Mezmer"

    3. "Nosferatu Does a Hefty Dance" 

    4. "Pixel & Nasal"  

    5. "The Body of Death of the Man With the Body of Death"  

    6. "McFly"  


    Band Members

    • Rathead (Jimmy "The Rev" Sullivan) - drums (tracks 2, 3, 4, 6), piano (tracks 2, 3, 6), lead vocals (all tracks)
    • Synyster Gates - lead guitars (all tracks)
    • Buck Silverspur (El Diablo) - bass (all tracks)
    • Justin Meacham (Justin Sane) - keyboards & piano (track 4)
    • Derek Eglit (Super Loop) - drums (tracks 1 & 5)


  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):